Multimedia and Interactive Learning

Multimedia Learning can be offered in a variety of ways, and exists beyond the digital world. The theory of Multimedia learning was developed by Richard Mayer, and it is  when words and images are combined to create lasting, and memorable learning outcomes. Some examples of multimedia learning could be power-points, modern textbooks, and more! When I was in Grade 9, I switched schools and I was able to continue math but at a year above my grade level. The only problem was that since it was a middle school, and grade 9 was the last year offered, I had to do math online through correspondence. I struggled with not having a face-to-face teacher to answer my questions, and walk me through major concepts. This is when I discovered Khan Academy (https://www.khanacademy.org/), a great online multimedia learning tool, that combined voice with images and diagrams to explain to and guide the learner through different topics. Overall this had a great impact on my understanding, and I felt more confidence while completing new assignments. Using the multimedia principle in my learning helped me to complete my online course, while providing an enriching learning experience. I think what was the most impactful of this tool, was its simplicity in the language used to explain, and the fact it was a video that you could watch over and over to gain a better understanding.

While reading the article, The Hidden Importance of Teaching With Stories, I learned how storytelling allows us to make connections, and was reminded why storytelling should and can be used as a teaching tool in all subjects. Stories enrich learning by allowing opportunities for connections to be made, while allowing students to absorb more material at hand, which creates stronger learning outcomes. After reading this article, I was reflected on an impactful learning experience through story, that happened last year when we had a Indigenous Ways of Learning workshop, where we were taught bark biting. The guest speaker, prior to, and during, told us the story of how she was taught bark biting when she was young, and during the story she instructed us how to do it. This created a meaningful, and memorable learning environment, and allowed us to learn about bark biting, and indigenous culture through story and hands on experience at the same time. How she embedded the story within the teaching was thoughtful, and allowed us to connect to one another while completing the activity.

Overall, I think multimedia and interactive learning, are how all lessons should be taught. As they have a learner-centred approach, and are beneficial to the students when it comes to understanding, building and making connections, and fosters a greater desire to learn.

One thought on “Multimedia and Interactive Learning

Leave a comment